Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey guys so my Camry overheated the other night. I'm no expert so bear with me. I got it cooled down and took it home after it overheated. Luckily no check engine lights are on after this so I'm guessing that means no warped heads or warped gasket and that nothing is damaged.

So far I replaced the thermostat, coolant temp sensor and the radiator cap needed to be replaced. I left my car running after replacing those things and it didn't over heat but coolant started coming out of the sides of the radiator and steam comes out. My guess is the radiator is damaged or it needs to be bled. I can provide a video of what it's doing if needed.

So does anyone have any advice of why steam and coolant is coming out from the top of the radiator? Should I have kept bleeding air out of it for longer? How can I know if I did damage to the engine, head gasket, or cylinder heads? Thanks in advance

The car is a 1998 Camry LE 4 cylinder 2.2L

·
Registered
1995 T100 2WD
3,785 Posts
The plastic tank radiators fail where the tank is crimped onto the core especially if it the original.
There cheap and easy to replace, odds are it was leaking until the car overheated and that was the tipping point for the radiator to fail completely. Check Rockauto. They carry the Spectra line which are good units.

·
Registered
4 Posts
The plastic drain cock screw can rot out on older radiators. I'd check that before spending any more money or time on the problem.

·
Registered
305 Posts