Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok guys and girls i just got a 92 celica gts froma afriend and it needs some work but i am kinda new to this so i figure hey now shame in asking for some advice. the car is a auto and needs a new trans any tips on what to buy and she has 253k on her so i want a new engine so what would be a good one to buy? and what about a intercooler and turbo. i know its alot to think about at once but hey mabey i can get a look at the cash i got to raise. i will be out of town for the next 2 days so if you can post me here or mail me at [email protected] with any advice.

·
96 3MZ M/T
Camry
2,879 Posts
buy a 3sgte with a fwd tranny already bolted to it and your good to rock .... or if you fell reall adventurus you can try and make a 5sgte dont know how well the mounts will work but should work .... you can also really be inventive and drop a 1mz-fe dont know if it's ever been done but i guess if people put them in a small mr2 then should work as well with the celica

·
Lives For The Curves
93 Camry
1,546 Posts
1MZ has been done in a Celica. But for a noob, I'd say a 3SGTE swap is very adventurous, but makes the most sense (other than 5SFE). I say go 3SGTE, and I'm sure you could find a Celica board that would have plenty of info on it.

·
400whp club here I come!!
HT MR2 Turbo
3,546 Posts
3SGTE will come with an intercooler (top mount) and a turbo. You should be able to find a Celica version for < $1,200 from what i have seen.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
thanks

I just wanted to say thanks to everyone. I think that the advice will be a big help. If you think of anything else drop a line.
Oh-yeah I almost forgot any thoughts on what kind of pipes should i put on her? I want a nice rumble but not over kill.

·
Lives For The Curves
93 Camry
1,546 Posts
That'll all depend on what sort of engine you put in her

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
engine