Toyota Nation Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
:confused: I have a 2001 Toyota Camry (4cyl) that I have only had for one year. I have lately been noticing a problem that over this past week has gotten much worse. When I press the gas (mostly if the car is stopped at a light or something or just been started), the RPM's go up but the car hesitates before going. This is very dangerous when attempting to pull into busy traffic and scares me half to death. Then the other day I noticed while at a stop sign on top of a hill, that when I release the break to press the gas the car starts to roll rapidly backwards! The car is an automatic. I am a female college student that always gets screwed by car dealers, etc. when taking my car in to get it worked on... can someone give me some ideas as to what might be wrong so that I can tell if they are trying to fix things that have nothing to do with the problem? Thanks!

·
96 3MZ M/T
Camry
2,879 Posts
your transmission is dying! i'm guessing you bought the car used and the people before didnt take too good care of the tranny. you can try and see if changing the tranny fluid fixes anything or get a tranny flush. personly i found that to make things worst at times better at others.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I did buy the car used but had it checked out by a mechanic first and they said the car was in great condition. Just found out the trans. was extremely low in fluid so I filled it back up... seems to be driving normal now... do you think I should still go and get it looked at or get the fuel injection system flushed or anything?

·
96 3MZ M/T
Camry
2,879 Posts
well the problem was in your transmission so there might be a leak. so keep checking to see if there is enough fluid every so often. everything else should be fine but maybe the transmission flush might be good to help take out anything that might of happend when it was low.

·
Registered
6 Posts