Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone. I hope you’re doing well. This is my second post in here, the first one was about some issues I had with a Highlander, however I was able to solve the problem successfully thanks to he community in the forum. So here I am again asking for your help... I have a Camry 12 that’s always been running good until a few days ago. I tried turning the car on, however the only thing that happened when I pressed the ignition button was a weird loud electrical noise, I’m pretty sure it’s the starter engine. The weird thing is that the car's battery is fine (I think it's fine)... radio, windows and headlights, all work properly. Problem is, you can’t start the engine whatsoever. I’ll attach a video of the sound coming from the engine bay. (I suspect it’s the starter engine, however I’m no expert). It’s very important to mention that my Highlander ran out of battery just before this problme started and I used the Camry to jump start it, so I’m certain that messed the Camry's voltage. I’ve jump started many cars before and this is the first time something like this happens... don’t know if I did something wrong, but I’m pretty sure that’s the case.

Anyways... the Camry does start when you jump start it using the Highlander, however when you try to start it on some hours later, it just won’t, it makes that weird sound, and the engine doesn’t even crank. I wouldn’t discard the battery as the source of the problem... maybe it’s low enough to start the engine but has enough charge to operate all the electronics inside. Maybe the battery recharging thing isn’t working anymore. As I told you before, I’m no expert.

I would appreciate your help and knowledge, getting this fixed. These days have been rough with the COVID thing going on... so I don’t want to take the car to the workshop and end up paying a good amount of money.