Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
1996 Corolla Wagon
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all! I've been drifting around the forums for a few weeks now, I work at an online school and it is extremely slow, like hours of sitting doing nothing. I've been reading through build threads and such, and love these forums! Anyway...

I have a 1996 Corolla Wagon ae102, auto. Since I bought it a few months ago, I've been doing all my own maintenance, and "upgrades". Since this is my first car, I'm pretty new to the maintenance, and have done things ranging from oil changes to struts to axles, even a thermostat. The fist "performance" (lol) upgrade I did was attempt to install a Cherry Bomb muffler. So, I cut off the muffler since I couldn't get the bolts off, and used that heat tape stuff to attach it. It was fine for a few months, but then fell off. I figured it's easier to just buy a catback exhaust and install the whole thing.

Well, yesterday I finish up an oil change and get under the car, and notice the nuts for the catalytic converter are totally gunked up. I attatched pictures below. Any idea of how to clean those up enough to get them off? I would prefer to not just cut the pipes, in case installation is a pain (I'm sure it will be). And also, does anyone know the wrench size and type for the O2 sensors? I have up to a 17 but it didn't fit. Thanks in advance! Oh and expect me to be active in these forums, at least as long as work is slow :grin:

Attachments

·
Registered
08 Toyota Camry 2AZ-FE R9K Tuned
5,390 Posts