Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Toyota Newbie
Her truck,when needs
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a total newb when it comes to brakes.

I need to change the pads on a 2000 Tundra and need to know if there are any special tools needed.:confused::confused:

·
Registered
196 Posts
One word of advice............do not get cheap brake pads. Get the high dollar or dealer brake pads. I learned from a two bad experiences. Bad brake pads cause bad rotors and lead to major problems.

·
Ninja-rator
4,262 Posts

1. Bottle of brake cleaner
2. Apropriate wrenches-- both Socket and open ended combination
3. Clamp or it's special tool to force the pads/push the piston back for room
4. Decent set of pads like BJ meantioned.
5. Anti squeel stuff/ gel/ spray
6. Not so coarse sand paper to degloss/ scratch up the pads and discs a bit.
7. Haynes, equivalent or the manufacturer's book.

I guess everything is typical exept for that clamp/ special tool you'll need. I've seen it sell for five bucks at the most *the piston depressor.* C-clamp at HomeDepot goes for 2 bucks?

·
Toyota Newbie
Her truck,when needs
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the replies but,my stepdaughter found someone with an identical Tundra and they already did them.

·
2004 Thundra V8 4WD TRD
2004 Tundra
62 Posts
Would I be right if I said the calipers do not even need to come off to change the pads? That is, they come right off the back fo the calipers by taking off some pins or clips?

·
Ninja-rator
4,262 Posts
yes and no.

You'll still need to push the piston back first so you can have access to the old pads.
(Don't forget to open the cap to the master cylinder sao the brake fluid has somewhere to go.)

·
Banned
24 Posts
Just do it at the Dealer. Ive gone thru a set of front pads twice already. I have 42K miles on mine but I am a spirited driver. I dont mind normal wear and tear. Im on my second set of tires too!!

·
Banned
24 Posts