Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
196 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, called crutchfeild to put in my order for an Alpine deck and it is not so simple. Seems that I have the upgraded stereo, in between the jbl and the plain jane. Unfortunately, my system actually has an amp behind the dash and in order to change the head unit the amp has to be taken out or bipassed and new speaker wires need to be ran. Furthermore, because of this situation crutchfield can not provide a wire harness. Bummer, man...........
 

·
Registered
Toyota Celica
Joined
·
233 Posts
Not true i have the same system the stock amp can be unhooked from behind the dash and a standard plain jane harness used. the amp will unbolt from the truck with two phillips screws. the stock amp will unplug and come out looking like this http://pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/concepts_series/detail?.dir=fca5&.dnm=4216.jpg&.src=ph
notice the wiring harness that is the one that goes to the radio if you pull the harness attached to the amp off it will reach to the radio location. If you can't get a harness for it from Crutchfield go to Circuit City they have it. Thats where i got mine. Hope this helps Oh and no need to replace wires you can still use the stock harness
 

·
tech geek?
Joined
·
9 Posts
2006 Tundra Stereo Harness

Searched first and didnt find exactly what I needed.

My buddy just bought an 06 Tundra with the standard audio (2 rear door speakers, 2 front door speakers and two tweeters) and purchased a new head unit for it. The Metra wiring kit he purchased matches the standard Toyota sound system harness, but in no way matches his. We thought it had the amp installed, but it is nowhere to be seen. I thought he OEM amp was located just beneath the head unit it the dash near the HVAC controls, but there is none there. I also followed the harness as far as I could without finiding anything. I can remove the lower console and look around, but thought I would check to see if anyone here knew where the amp would be located on the 06, or if they changed the standard wiring harness for the 06 before I go any further (hopefully to save a bit of time) I have no issue creating a harness for it, but hoped that either they just moved the amp or someone knows of a newer harness adaptor that will work. Thanks in advance for any help.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
You mentioned that your buddy purchased an 06 Tundra, without JBL. I believe this vehicle does not have an external amplifier. The amp should be built-in type, in the original H/U. You guys are going to require an external amplifier and a H/U. But this depends on your intentions.

There should be 2 connectors (from the vehicle) used to power that audio H/U. I am sure that there are a lot of shops that will carry the mating end connectors.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
39 Posts
The Tundra has 2 distinctly different systems. 1 type has a built in amp and uses the same connections as previous year models and Metra, Schosche and other suppliers have a harness adapter that works. The upgraded models have an external amp that is located at the behind the rearseat back. On these models the connection between the amp and the HU are tied into the vehicle multiplex communication system. I have not seen any standard harnesses available for these systems,
 

·
tech geek?
Joined
·
9 Posts
Yep, he took the lazy route before looking any further and asked crutchfield if they had a harness. No harness for the 06. If the system even has tweeters (and still the stock HU) it has an amp... beneath the rear seat. We have the wire colors all mapped out so we will splice the two harnesses to bypass the amp. He isnt much into doing anything but an HU and stock speakers so that will be all he needs. I cant imagine why they relocated the amp back there... but thats where it is. Thanks for the replies everyone!
 

·
Registered
06 tundra DC
Joined
·
27 Posts
be care ful of bypassing the factory amp in the tundra if you are going to hook it up to a head unit . The front and rear door speakers are about 2.5 ohms each and will be too low of an impeadence for most head units . you will need an aftermarket amp to use the speakers. the tweeters have passive crossovers mounted on them( 2.2 mic caps)so you can wire the door as 1 speaker but,the best way to go is to use 8 channels .the lower front door location is actually a 2" and a 7" side by side for 8 speakers total.the amp was relocated because it replaces the two amp system previously used. the older system used an inboard amp and a smaller 2 channel out board .the change was due to not being to fit a six dics changer and sufficient amp inthe same chassis. my company installs about 60 to 80 nav systems a month and I have been pressuring metra to hurry up with a harness for this but they say the demand isn't they yet so callem and ask them to make it too!
 

·
Registered
2005 Tundra SR5 Acce
Joined
·
5 Posts
Seems like I may share the same problem, so with the access cab truck there is an amp behind the back seat? If so, how do you take the back seat out to get at it?
 

·
Registered
2001 Tundra AC TRD L
Joined
·
1 Posts
I have the same issue. I have a 2001 tundra access cab limited and I have the 6 cd changer. component speakers in the front and door speakers in the rear...all factory. I have a system out of my old truck to install in there place. How do you get the back seat off and the dash around the stereo out.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
196 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
Amp is located...

under the rear seat passenger side storage compartment. When you open the compartment there is a plastic cover shield over the amp. You have to pull out the plastic plugs and then remove the plastic piece. The amp is a panasonic. I have not found out the wattage. After much debate I have decided to replace only the speakers. The radio and amp are wired (as previously stated) into the computer system. So...........have fun replacing this one.......
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
39 Posts
lsned said:
I have the same issue. I have a 2001 tundra access cab limited and I have the 6 cd changer. component speakers in the front and door speakers in the rear...all factory. I have a system out of my old truck to install in there place. How do you get the back seat off and the dash around the stereo out.
In a 2001 the amp is behind and below the radio, not behind the back seat.
 

·
Registered
'04Jetta GLi/'99Taco
Joined
·
107 Posts
I've got an '04 4dr 4x4 Limited. JBL HU w/ the external crap. I attempted to cut the speaker wires to the front doors behind the kick panels, don't do it. The speedometer stopped working, but the new HU worked. Couldn't figure out the rear door wiring in a timely manner so I ran new speaker wire. At louder than stock volume static and popping was heard. Rewired all back to stock crap. This all after three days search for the 'correct harness' with the RCA jacks that don't work. Any and all advice that isn't already posted prior to this post????? Love the truck, hate JBL. Going to go w/ a Cornfed lift up front to make room for some 285/70-17s, any suggestions for the rear aside from blocks.
 

·
Registered
'04Jetta GLi/'99Taco
Joined
·
107 Posts
I know for sure on my '04 4dr Limited w/ the JBL setup, the amp is behind the back seat. Pull the panel off w/a 10mm socket and it will be mounted on the wall. The harness that fits my radio is an 8113, not 8112, not 7016, not 7116. Hooked everything up as supposed to, nothing. Was going to run the acc. wire straight to the factory amp but my volt meter and light tester are nowhere to be found. Will pick one up next chance I get. Other than that glimmer of hope, I'll be preparing to get new speakers all around and rewire the whole truck. Anyone with any suggestions other than the ones posted, please share the knowledge.:nutkick:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
196 Posts
Discussion Starter #15
A lot of info.......

can be found here. Take a look at it, complete with wiring diagrams. Your jbl system should actually have two amps. one in the rear and one in the front. It will cost quite a bit to replace..........

http://www.tundrasolutions.com/forums/garage/faqs/audio/audiofaqmain.htm

If buying new gear try crutchfeild, they will give you life time support and the directions and kits, etc they send you are idiot proof........

www.crutchfield.com
 

·
Registered
'04Jetta GLi/'99Taco
Joined
·
107 Posts
:thumbup: Good deal, useful stuff. Any idea of how big those subs were, 8" or 10"? Let me get me a volt meter and see what I can do.
 

·
Registered
'04Jetta GLi/'99Taco
Joined
·
107 Posts
Printed out what I should have needed from:

http://www.tundrasolutions.com/forums/garage/faqs/audio/audiofaqmain.htm

but the wiring on my '04 Limited 4dr 4x4 w/ JBL was different. Got a voltmeter and checked all wiring w/o key in ignition, w/acc. on, and w/radio on. From what I can tell the amp stays on as long as the key is in and acc. is on, radio on or not. Amp has 8 low level 'speaker' wires going to it and 8 higher voltage leaving it, so as to explain why I couldn't find an amp in the dash. Couldn't figure the problem out so either the RCA jacks on my new harness or messed up or my the RCA outputs on my radio are non-functional. Gave up in the So-MS heat and decided to get all new and s-can all the factory.
:nutkick:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
58 Posts
has anyone figured out a way to keep the factory amp and run an aftermarket HU on a 04 tundra dc with the jbl system, i want to get this HU installed so badly but this damn jbl system is pissing me off. i need to know how to wire this POS so its not sitting in the house anymore, please any help would be appreciated
 

·
Registered
'04Jetta GLi/'99Taco
Joined
·
107 Posts
Gave up and traded mine in. Other reasons factored in, but lack of subwoofer space and the JBL radio did weigh quite heavy. I got a sweet little VW, and guess what. Heard of a Monsoon system? As far as for you, I came to the conclusion that I would have to buy all new speakers and have to rewire the entire system, start from scratch as if you don't have a factory radio or wiring. Bummer, huh? Good luck.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
Stereo Install

Not true i have the same system the stock amp can be unhooked from behind the dash and a standard plain jane harness used. the amp will unbolt from the truck with two phillips screws. the stock amp will unplug and come out looking like this http://pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/concepts_series/detail?.dir=fca5&.dnm=4216.jpg&.src=ph
notice the wiring harness that is the one that goes to the radio if you pull the harness attached to the amp off it will reach to the radio location. If you can't get a harness for it from Crutchfield go to Circuit City they have it. Thats where i got mine. Hope this helps Oh and no need to replace wires you can still use the stock harness

This guy totally knew what was going on took out the amp and the cables fit perfect to the factory ones after disconnecting them and it was perfect
 
1 - 20 of 22 Posts
Top