Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was wiring up some neons and LED's to a switch the other day when I encountered a problem. I was drawing my positive 12V and ground from the cigarette lighter. I tapped it right at the copper leads that go into the lighter itself. I had everything wired up and I put the key in. I turned on the switch, and everything worked fine. I was thrilled, but then i heard a soft "pop" and all lights went out. They would not turn back on. I checked my connections, and everything seemed fine, except for one mysterious black wire on the back of the cigarette lighter that looked like it had melted. Could this be some kind of protective fillament or something? How can I fix this or get around it. I was thinking of running a wire where the filament had been, hopefully one that wouldnt melt. It would be great if I could get some help from some experienced members here, because I am pretty new to car electronics. Thanks!

·
Registered
2,227 Posts
you might have sireed it wrong and sent a low volt power threw the ground,you didnt say what gen you have but if i was you i would wire it up to one of the emty fuse spots in the fuse panle
go from that to a switch and that to the lights. and the ground to the frame. as for your melted wire try and trace it back as far as the meld sec. is cut it off tack a volt meter and set it to ohm setting and find out if you are grounded,if so make shere that it is a ground not a power line. you can do this buy replaceing the fuse you may have blown and tern the power on take you volt meter and tern it to volts and see if there is power.if everything cheaks out you should be good to go.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #4