Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good Afternoon everyone.. I'm new to this forum.. I am in the process of preparing to build a circle track toyota racer, either a camry or an avalon.

I live in Michigan and the local 3/8mile paved circle track has a new class called "Pure Stock" which is V6 FWD automatic tranny only.

Last year a Dodge Intrepid won the points championship.. racing mostly against other Intrepids, a Spirit, a Lumina and a Cutlass Supreme.

I think a Camry or Avalon would kick some serious tail.. but I'm new to the car and I'm hoping the legions of tuners, street racers and drag racing folks here will help me build a great circle track racer.
Anyone interested in giving me a hand ?

·
Registered
Toyota Camry
1,820 Posts
Oh man, that sounds like something I should drive down to Michigan for. A FWD V6 auto only race...that would be a cakewalk in a Camry. Honestly, these cars handle amazing with some suspension upgrades. Tokico struts, H&R springs (or Eibach, Tein, many more), a front tower bar, and a TRD rear sway bar and you'll be eating that Intrepid.

I would recommend finding a 1994-1996 Coupe w/ the V6 obviously. The V6 comes with an auto transmission only, which is matched perfectly to the engine. They are hard to find, but are definately out there. Awesome, reliable cars. Not a ton of aftermarket support (no Accord or Civic here), but definately fun cars to own.

Shit, you can even buy mine! HAHA. (not really, I put it up for sale for a LOT of money to see what happens. Maybe some kid will see it and bite, I dunno?)

http://modifiedcartrader.com/findVehicle/listingDetail.asp?directID=6959&userZip=&numLat=&numLong=&txt=1994_Toyota_Camry_LE%20V6_FOR_SALE

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
An '00 + Avalon is probably going to cost too much money unless you know where there is one in a salvage yard.