Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently posted about what battery to get for my 2015 Corolla LE so I’m going to be replacing it soon but since this is my first time doing so, can someone tell me how to clean the terminals and what exactly to use. I’ve never done this before. I’ve attached a pic. Thank-you.

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
5,184 Posts
You can use can of coke if there's corrosion. The auto stores have a wire brush to clean the inside of the terminal.

If all else fails, use baking soda cocktail.

·
Registered
2,279 Posts
Important to clean cable connections separate from battery terminal.
Disconnect both pos/neg and clean connectors inside and out( until shinny bright)

Clean battery terminals and connectors with battery terminal brush and baking soda to neutralize acid.
Finally clean top of battery with same soda.
Reconnect terminals/tighten.

Treat new battery terminals with corrosion protection ( auto parts store) and periodically clean battery top/terminas so as to not let corrosion build up.

·
Registered
140 Posts
That +'tve terminal is showing the sort of corrosion that made me swap from duralast (Autozone) to another brand.

Baking soda can neutralize the acid and then wash it off and anywhere else the soda runs, like the tray under the battery. I hate having to replace the battery connectors because they cant seal up the battery posts.

·
6,178 Posts
1. buy battery terminals cleaning tool
2. buy dielectric grease
3. get hand drill and self tapping screw
4 get a mallet
5. get battery sealant spray

Now:
1. replace battery
2. TAKE APART the positive terminal on cable. ALL of it. As that plate with 2nd 10mm head bolt also corrodes badly.
3. clean that plate and clamp, then lubricate mating surfaces with dielectric grease. Reassemble
4. clean negative clamp and lubricate also
5. set clamps onto battery terminals.