Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Take off, eh!
1,428 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Here is a write up on changing your own Engine Coolant, with a few pictures. It is aimed at someone with very basic wrenching skills (but perhaps not a complete novice), so you veterans, please proof read for accuracy.

As always... some safety points first when working under a vehicle:

• ALWAYS make sure vehicle is either level, or if on ramps, will not roll towards you if something fails with brakes or wheel chocks
  • engage E-brake
  • chock at least 2 wheels to prevent rolling
  • rubber gloves are nice
Regarding the question: "Do you need to do this on a lift?" - no, I did this on the driveway (so if any antifreeze spills, could easily wash them off) but using the hose method described below, you can do it without spilling at all.

POISON WARNING: antifreeze contains Ethylene Glycol - only a few tablespoonfuls (30-50 mL) if ingested will kill you. Even less for pets & children. And of course as fate would have it, it is a sweet tasting substance. So if you spill any, your dog *will* lick it up. blot up any spills & then wash away any residue with copious amounts of water. Do NOT, I repeat NOT store old antifreeze in empty 2 litre pop bottles!! I work at a hospital - have seen several cases of poisonings. Grampa knew what was in the bottles- grandkids thought it was pink pop. Using my way, you can (with a funnel) pour the old antifreeze back into the OEM bottles & take to recyclers.

here is the supply list:

Tools
- 10mm socket to loosen Drain plugs on each side
- funnel
- Ratchet
- Extensions (I needed 2 - at least 12 inches or more is better)
- Universal joint for socket (driver's side)
- about 5 to 6 feet of 3/8" O.D. vinyl hose. Not thick, but clear, so can see when you have opened pet-cocks enough
- duct tape :lol: I've always wanted to include that in a write up - now I have!

Misc

- Ramps (optional)
- Mop bucket with graduations labelled