Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just noticed an antifreeze leak on the front driver side of the engine. It appears to be leaking from the engine block in the area of the hose. I wish I knew how to post a photo to show exactly where, but I dont. I am wondering what the replacement process looks like for that gasket. To try and paint a picture,it looks like the hose connects to where the thermostat is housed, and behind that is where the leak is, but not at the thermostat. ????????????IDK, I am new to the T100's and am having a hard time knowing where everything is. Anyways, ANY help is much appreciated.
Thanks, Joe.

·
1998 T100 SR5 2WD
14,675 Posts
How to post piccies... ;)

The only gasket on that part is the rubber gasket that is on the thermostat. AutoZone has it fer about $3. Have you removed the inlet nozzle and took a peek at the gasket?

Piccies really will help here... ;)

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·

I hope these pics are of some use. Let me know what you think or if you need any other photos, now that i know how. Thanks again!

·
1998 T100 SR5 2WD
14,675 Posts
Yes..that's where the thermostat is.

How many miles do you have on the engine? When was the last time you had the timing belt changed? Did you replace the water pump at the same time?

It looks like the water pump gasket is failing? Are you sure the coolant isn't leaking from on top of the engine? An area where coolant can leak from is the coolant bypass tube which is under the air plenum. Check all yer hoses on top including the hoses going into the Idle Air Control (IAC) valve. ;)

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Yes..that's where the thermostat is.

How many miles do you have on the engine? When was the last time you had the timing belt changed? Did you replace the water pump at the same time?