Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
joseph
1993 toyota corolla
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i have a 93 toyota corolla and im thinking of doing an engine swap what engine would be good to swap my 4A-FE engine out with im new to this so i dont know what kind or what year engine to swap it out with.:confused:

·
Full Throttle
1993 Corolla SE Ltd
6,774 Posts
Welcome to the forums. Most people go for the 4A-GE 20v. It's very high revving and has a lot of potential. It uses the same engine and transmission mounts as the 4A-FE and requires minimal changes to get up and running (such as the loom and ECU etc). There's actually a tutorial about installing one on these forums. Click here to read it. If you're after a lot of power however, then go for either the 4A-GZE (supercharged) or the 3S-GTE (turbocharged) engine. Both require custom work to get it to fit though so it depends on how deep your pockets are and how much power you actually want. There are quite a lot of threads in regards to engine swaps, so I'd recommend doing a bit of a search for more info :thumbsup:

·
joseph
1993 toyota corolla
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
thanks for the info man...one more question which engine would be pushing out more power?

·
Full Throttle
1993 Corolla SE Ltd
6,774 Posts
thanks for the info man...one more question which engine would be pushing out more power?
No worries. Out of the three I mentioned, the 3S-GTE pushes out the most power. Both the 4A-GE 20v and 4A-GZE have 165hp whereas the 3S-GTE has 260hp. The 3S-GTE swap has been done a few times in the past and is certainly worth it in terms of the power gain over the 4A-FE :cool:

·
joseph
1993 toyota corolla
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #5 (Edited)
cool thats more of what im looking for as far as th 3S-GTE goes any add ons that would be recomended for more power or better performance anything you would recomend? or maybe anything i can do with the transmission that would help me out as well?

·
Full Throttle