Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Super Moderator
2006 Corolla XRS
5,876 Posts
Just the mention of the stealership, it's gonna cost an arm and a leg.

Better to consider aftermarket audio and security shop.

·
Super Moderator
2006 Corolla XRS
5,876 Posts
If that's the case, start calling the dealership.

·
Registered
2018 Corolla
52 Posts
I’m interest......I have a corolla LE , 2018 and I’m interested in adding it too. I’d rather the dealership do it just in case any electrical issues pop up, that way it’s on them.

·
Registered
2014 Corolla
58 Posts
I was an installer of remote car starters/audio, etc for 10 years. The Magnusson-Moss warranty act prevents dealers from voiding warranties for work not done by the dealer. My shop had this argument with dealers for years and in the end, those SAME dealers came to us to install remote car starters for the vehicles they were selling. What the dealer is going to do is send your car TO an aftermarket shop to install the remote car starter anyway and charge you extra for doing it. You're better off going to the shop yourself. Remote car starters are usually not installed by dealers unless it's one of the options when you first purchase the car.

Installing remote car starters today is so much simpler than years past. Compustar makes kits that's literally plug and play for Toyotas. The only trouble you will run into is programming the unit as Compustar has a policy of only authorized dealers can install/program them mainly for warranty purposes. I installed a Compustar in my own car, though I had to be resourceful to find install docs as I don't have direct access anymore. I only stopped installing because the shop I worked at closed because the owner wanted to move to Florida.