Toyota Nation Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I love the mk3s and I'm looking to purchase one of my very own soon.

Unfortunately, the cars are old enough and rare enough that its hard to find exactly what I want. To that end I have a couple questions you car nuts might be able to answer since I'm just getting into under the hood work.

1. Feasability of putting an airbag on an '88. The car is basically everything I want except that its 88 so pre airbag. The issues here are safety, insurance and so my mother doesn't have a heart attack every time the phone rings thinking I just died in a horrible twisted car accident... yea...

IIRC from supras my father owned, the cruise control was moved beyond the obvious different wheel. Am I gonna need more than the wheel + computer? I'm just not sure if the entire steering column is different on a '90 (earliest I think the air bags were on the supra).

Also, can this be got for cheap from a chopshop and for how much?

2. How much would a turbo kit cost for the mkiii? I think its the ct26, though I can't recall if thats stock or not. Basically another car I'm looking at (a '90 so no airbag problem) is a regular which I'd want to convert into a turbo.

3. Anyone have any experience with replacing an auto tranny with a manual one? I'm a control freak when it comes to cars so naturally i love manual transmissions. I'm pretty sure it will be cheapish and easy to secure one from a parts car, but I'm mostly interested in technical problems with it (IE major differences besides the obvious in auto and manual models) and time investment (I will need to drive it, so 3 months of work is no good really).

As far as I'm looking right now, the '88 is basically all I want (though auto so I'd look into switching it in the long run) so if the airbag is a RELATIVELY simple deal and not terribly expensive I'd go that route.

Thanks a bunch.

·
5M-GE
2,901 Posts