Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello!

I'm new to this board, and while I'm well familiar with American-built diesel pickups, I'm completely new to Toyotas.

I may have an opportunity to get my hands on an '84 2WD pickup. It currently has a 22R engine and a 5 speed manual trans. The engine needs work; among other things, it needs a replacement harmonic balancer because the front main seal wore a groove in the old balancer, making the engine leak oil like a sieve. The pickup's actually been sitting for over a year because of this, and is why I may be getting it.

No offense meant to the die-hards out there :) but I don't particularly want to deal with this engine, as I'm trying to keep my fleet all-diesel. So, I'm looking at swapping in a Daimler-Benz OM616 4 cylinder diesel out of a Mercedes-Benz 240D. I know that Toyota built a diesel for their pickups, but I'm concerned about finding replacement parts for an engine that's apprently quite rare, and I'm also pretty familiar with the OM616 and OM617 5 cylinder (which powers my 300D). :)

My biggest questions are:
1) What are the gear ratios in the transmission? Especially the overdrive gear.
2) What differential gear ratios were available?
3) What size tires are original?

As far as I know, everything in this pickup is original, but it is not located where I am (so I can't simply go out and look; it's about a half-hour's drive away) and I'm trying to figure out if the truck's currently geared to run at freeway speeds that'll work with the 616's RPM range. With the above info and the calculators on ring-pinion.com, I can see what RPM's the engine's turning for a given vehicle speed.