Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
today i purchased a 96 camry, 89k miles. already a strange dashboard light has blinked on and off, of course while someone else was driving it so i have no direct experience with it. the car did not come with the owner's manual, how do those things go missing anyway? I can't look up what the light means. It is in the lower left, looks like a car with taillights flashing. Is it a bulb warning light of some kind? What does it mean? Anyone?

·
Registered
75 Posts
you seriously need to get that owners manual for your car. its very useful in the future.

but im not too sure about the lamp since i havent owned a 96 cam, but im guessing broken/misfunction taillights? go check to see if your taillights perform the way the should.

is it blue? if it is, prob high beams on

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yeah that manual will come in handy I know, but only so much time in a day. Maybe this weekend.
No the light is not blue it is yellow, and all the exterior lamps are working correctly.
That is what has me baffled.

·
Registered
75 Posts
hmm is it the "malfunction indicator lamp"? its yellow and has these little fans along with a small engine symbol thing.

describe the symbol more

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
no it isn't like the "check engine" light. but actually has the outline of a top view of a car. then at what looks like the rear of the car where the tail lights would be are these little lines like rays shooting out of the lights. I say the rear because the outline is arranged up and down and the rays are at the bottom.

·
Not so Noob now!
564 Posts
Defininte ID on the rear light malfunction indicator. It's there to tell you there is a bulb burned out in the back of your car. If it isn't on now I wouldn't worry about it until it goes back on.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #7