I want to DIY
Oil Change
Transmission &
Differential Fluid
Replace Air Intake Hose
Clean MAF Sensor

For oil change

1-what capacity does this car take?
2-I don't want to put the wrong oil, so I saw these 2 oils at Wally world and I am wondering if the synthetic blend is better over the Mobile high mileage?
3-For this mileage is there an oil additive (my friend mentioned Lucas high mileage) that is recommended?

Transmission & Differential

This car has never been done either of this at least since I acquired it 10 years ago at 90k miles. I have heard that changing transmission fluids could cause issues because the gears have become used to, and set themselves, to the metal shavings in there, etc. I don't know what to make of that as I am just getting into DIY maintenance. Is this hogwash?

1-What fluids are recommended, capacity and viscosity?
2-What is the frequency recommended for changing?

Air Intake & MAF Sensor Cleaning

I will replace the Air Intake Hose as it's cracked and the new one is here. While at it I might as well clean the Sensor. Which cleaner is recommended? I saw these at Wally

Belt Dressing

My buddy swears by dressing belts and sprays Preston belt dressing product. Is this recommended or does this negatively impact belts? If so about what frequency?

·
Registered
1997 Camry LE I4
975 Posts
Oil - any 05w/30 oil you can buy at Walmart will work. As Eric the Car guy says the best oil is clean oil. People have their own favorites brands....its a pointless discussion.

ATF - I use Maxlife ATF, available from Walmart. Usually every 30k miles is good.

MAF sensor - I dont think there is one in the I4.

Youtube is your friend.

Read your owners manual too.....if you have one.

·
Registered
Look in sig
9,186 Posts
That is correct, the 5SFE does not have a MAF. The 1MZFE does (1994+ V6). The 5SFE has a MAP sensor (Manifold Absolute Pressure). Learned something new today.