Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Toyota User
95 Camry Wagon
186 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I think it's been done before and there are good videos out there, but I wanted to share my experience today...

I just got this car and it was a good deal because it was in need of some love. But I love working on these 4cyl Toyotas... it's rare to need to do it ;)
Bear in mind, I'm not a pro, just a guy who does this as needed and learned from a number of friends and practice over the years. Don't trust me as a mechanic, this is amateur stuff...
ANYWAY!

Here's the starting point, a dirty and slightly neglected engine bay:

Take note of the valve cover area, a tell tale leak:

Here's my "Cliff's Notes" version

1) Take off the plastic shroud cover. Just remove the 2 acorn nuts (10mm), oil cap, and slide the thing off (the rear is held by 2 rubber thingees

2) Take off the nuts and bolts that hold the cover in place. Also, remove the breather tubes. Finally, the ignition coils. (These are all 10mm, by the way)
And try to move that crap out of the way!

Before:

After:

3) Pull the cover off carefully. If yours is like mine was, the cover needed some inspiration to move. A plastic wedge got mine, but I've done this with a rubber hammer (lightly!) or even the right "Fonzie" can bust it free. Avoid metal if you can, I think it runs the risk of gouging.

Gross, right!?!

4) Remove the old gasket material. Mine was crispity, crunchity, so I kind of felt like getting a Butterfinger after (Spoiler alert: I drank a beer instead!)

5) Clean the valve cover off a bit. You don't have to eat off of it, but removing excess filth can help the oil filer relax a bit... right? I don't have a parts washer, so I used a rag, brake cleaner, and simple green. It did what it needed to.

6) Wipe off the contact area of the head. The part where the gasket touches, you know? Around the outside and around the plug tubes. I used the rag.