Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey I have been thinking of changing the oil on my own for my new (1999) Tacoma. Is this any easy process? Something I could do in my garage? What is the recommended oil for the v6 of this year?

I used to change the oil in my old Volvo, so I have some experience in the general knowledge of oil changes, but I want to know if there is anything I should know about do this with a Tacoma.

P.S., I also did a search before I posted this, but if there is another thread that addresses my questions, please show me.

·
GO PATRIOTS!
2007 Tundra
8,676 Posts
Do it yourself, you should have no problems. I have the 3.4 in my 04 and it takes 5w-30. I run Mobil 1 but before that I ran Castrol GTX and never had a problem. Purolater makes a good and cheap filter. I dont know about the 99's but I assume you have the same cumbersome skid plate--just remove it and dump the oil, the filter on the other hand is a pain in the butt but once you get the right hand positioning you'll have it down pat.

http://www.customtacos.com/tech/index.php?page=index_v2&id=4&c=8

^^^^^^For oil filters and viscosity

http://www.4x4wire.com/toyota/maintenance/tacoma_4runner_30k/maintenancep2.html#oil

^^^^How to change it. Note--this website tells you not to remove the skid plate and peel back the fender liner--I've never done it it sounds too easy lol

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks Dana, for the help. And the website with pictures works great. My old Volvo was easy to do this on, the Tacoma looks like work, but is not an impossibility -- plus I like working on cars myself and this wikll help pass the weekends now that football is done. :)

Oh and Dana, I aprrecaite this coming from you, as now it looks that both our NFL teams have gone down the tubes. :sosad:

·
GO PATRIOTS!
2007 Tundra
8,676 Posts