Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Searched but didn't find precise comments about this, sorry if I missed it.

After 5500 miles on my 09 Hihy Limited is there any reason not to have the Econ mode going all the time?
It seems to dampen the accelerator quite a bit but that is fine with me as I'm a pokey driver usually looking to max my mpg. Occasionally, when I want to cross a busy street or merge with lots of traffic it's nice to have the Econ mode off and have that extra pep and power but most of the time I don't mind the loss of power if it gains me better gas mileage.

Btw, my mileage went from 23ish to 25ish over the past two months that I've had the car. The mileage has been 25% city/75% highway, mostly from town to the mountains so lots of steepish mountain passes and access roads. I hope my mileage gets better as the temps warm up, the ski rack comes off and the engine gets broken in. These mileage figures are from the display, which from what I've read is usually a little bit generous.

shuksan

·
Registered
8 Posts
I have an 09 HiHy myself. Without using the econ mode, I'm getting 28.8 with 25%city, 75%highway driving. Seems like the econ mode is meant for city/traffic driving. With it on, my mpg on the highway goes down a bit.

·
Registered
3 Posts
I have tried it both ways, and there's no doubt my mileage is worse with it turned on. I leave ECON off and I'm getting 29mmg. I live in the north GA mountains and drive a mix of city and highway.

·
Registered
303 Posts
I seemed to have the opposite - I gain about 2 MPG with ECON on. With it on, I get about 27 city (a/c on) with ECON on. GOes down to about 25 with ECON off.

I have noticed that if I buy cheap brand-X gas my milage goes down about 2MPG also. I buy name brand gas it seems to return those 2 MPG. Damn Ethanol I suppose.

·
Registered
81 Posts