Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Sorry all - weird question. SInce I bought this 2007 Camry 2.4L used, I'm still learning about it. I read somewhere about an o-ring under the oil filler cap. Is there supposed to be one there? There isn't one - wondering if I should go get one.

Thanks!

·
Registered
08 Toyota Camry 2AZ-FE R9K Tuned
7,749 Posts
There is an o-ring but I believe it is built into the oil cap. Apparently I had over-tightened mine and it got damage causing me a slight leak. I bought a TRD version instead that has more of a true o-ring. Also, best to add a picture.

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter #3

All of that is hard plastic. Is that what it should be?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
7,749 Posts

All of that is hard plastic. Is that what it should be?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
It looks fine, whether or not the o-ring is rubber or hard plastic? It's a over ten year old car and I never checked when we first got it whether or not the o-ring is made out of. If you don't see no leak, which I do not see any oil residue outside the valve cover of your picture, then it is working as intended. You should be good to go. IF you are suspecting oil is disappearing, the 2AZ-FE is a known oil burner and the real only fix for it is essentially a engine rebuild by replacing the pistons & rings with updated parts.

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter #5

I wasn't worried so much about oil consumption as much as I saw there was one when looking at this diagram. (I just replaced the plugs, PCV valve, and Valve gasket cover.) Looks like part 12108A. I didn't recall the gasket when I changed the oil and wondered if it was necessary.

·
Registered
7,749 Posts
View attachment 295982