Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys!

Thanks a lot for every tips I've found on this forum.

I have an issue with my 2002 Toyota Echo.

First, I'm not a mechanical guy, but I'm willing to try some troubleshooting.

I'm working at home and at almost every evening, I'm going to a coffee shop (less than 1 mile away) sip a coffee and reading newspaper. When it's very cold (below 3F, Canadian here), the second time (when I want to go back at home) I want to start the car, it won't. Sometimes, after the 100th cranks, the car is starting. I have to call the road assistance to boost the car. My battery pack (motormaster 300A) won't do the job.

Some information about the car :

- I successfully changed my spark plugs, the issue still there.

- I changed my oil in early January. Unfortunately, I don't know the weight.

- it always start the first time, never the second time.

- battery it's an 2016

My theories about the issue (I can be very wrong)

- Oil weight and viscosity are wrong for the weather, so it won't lubricate correctly the motor.

- My travel distance is too short for charging the battery for the next start

- My battery is dying (but it's only 3 years old?)

- starter is going to die (but it's working flawless during hotter temp).

- my battery pack is shit (300A, it is enough?)

So, what can I do? Let the car motor running longer? What are you thinking about that?

(Sorry, English isn't my primary language, so some sentences could be weird for you)

Thanks a lot!

·
Registered
05 camry 07 tacoma
2,357 Posts
My travel distance is too short for charging the battery for the next start

3 years is probably the bat limit according to the use.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
My travel distance is too short for charging the battery for the next start

3 years is probably the bat limit according to the use.
For real? How can I check my wear level of my battery?

·
Registered
164 Posts