Toyota Nation Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, new here, I have a 2004 base highlander 4cyl fwd. I have shot a rod and need to replace the engine, but I was hoping to be able to upgrade the engine to a V6. My issue is I don’t know what/if other engines would fit in my car. I realize that if I do change the engine I would also probably have to get a new transmission as well. If anyone has any suggestions or knows more than I do please let me know! Would appreciate it greatly

·
Registered
11 Posts
Couple of things. Ive been working on cars for 40+ years. Seen alot. Rebuilt alot. When I grew up working on small block chevy V8s we used to swap engines all the time. Parts as well. GM had different bodies. But the engines were the same. THIS is not longer the case. I understand wanting to put 'something else' in there. But you will create alot of problems for yourself. Mostly expensive problems. I do not know-nor you probably either-if motor mounts will match up...4cy to 6cy. Ditto for transmission mount. Will the CV joints need to be replaced as well? What about all the sensor hookups? THAT chassis was made for a 4cy. You would be wise to put one back in it and upgrade the tranny as well since you have it out. I have a HL 2005 Base also. I love that 4cyl. Its all the power you really need. IF you really want to rebuild and thats brave of you....keep that same engine. Find a used crate engine. Find a used tranny...there will be and end to all your work. With the 6 swap, who knows what problems you will run into. BTW I did order a used 99 Accord tranny and had a friend put it in. I took a chance on an ebay purchase and so far pretty happy. I just could not find a tranny for that for under 1200 locally. Ended up paying 600ish on ebay.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Put another 2AZ in there.
Put another 2AZ in there.