Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
91 n/a mr2
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to toyota engines and I just acquire and 91 mr2 5sfe but the engine is not working. I want to swap the engine but from where I'm form in Texas the engine is verry hard to find. So I need to know what other engine can I swap for the 5sfe with out having to change the tranny and if I do what would be the best wy to go.

·
96 3MZ M/T
Camry
2,879 Posts
5sfe engine was used in alot of cars. you can get them from camrys (92-??) and celicas (years i dont know), rav 4's, solara's (sp?). just rember to take the ecu for that engine when you take it also maybe the wireing harness as i think the later years they added one more sensor.

·
Auto-Cross Addict
3,837 Posts
5s.... 3s.... Different tranny?

·
Registered
1991 MR2 turbo
69 Posts
The cheapest thing to do would be to put a 3sfe in. The 5sfe ecu and tranny will work for that motor. The 3sfe is much less performance though. Just order a JDM 5sfe. If you have a non-turbo (5sfe) putting a turbo (3sgte) in is anything but easy or simple.

·
400whp club here I come!!
HT MR2 Turbo
3,546 Posts
^ Actually... the swap is VERY simple if you have a complete clip. No... 5sfe and 3sgte trannys are NOT the same.

·
Registered
15 Posts
The years for the celica 3sgte are '90-'93 for the MR2 swap.

I am 99% sure, but do some research yourself.

Check out totaljdm.com for 3sgte's. This is going to be my route.

·
HT MR2 Turbo
3,546 Posts
^ Totaljdm doesn't.... and won't have any 3sgtes in. Better find another source. If they do happen to "get one in"... they will probably end up mailing you a b16 or something. Don't bother with internet places... find somewhere local so you can SEE the engine before you are stuck with it.

·
Registered
91 n/a mr2
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #12