Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
What Toyota?
2008 Saab 9-3
10,477 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, my roomates 95 Elantra won't start. :rolleyes: Of course, I'm not a mechanic and I just want to be sure that I've gone about diagnosing this properly. :thumbsup:

Well, I got back and we attempted to jump start the car. Waited for a few moments for the battery to charge up. After he turned the key, I noticed that the headlights and radio were working, but there was no noise coming from the engine. Not even relay clicks. So I grabbed a breaker bar and moderately tapped the starter a few times. Nothing.

I'm assuming a bad starter motor relay would be the best thing to replace at this point. Any input? Thanks!

·
ALSO AVAILABLE IN SOBER
7,457 Posts
Doubtful that it is the starter. You guys were jumping it off? Was his battery dead?

A neutral safety lockout can cause the very symptoms you describe. Try shifting from park to low and back a few times and see if it changes anything. You can also try starting it in neutral instead of park.

·
What Toyota?
2008 Saab 9-3
10,477 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Doubtful that it is the starter. You guys were jumping it off? Was his battery dead?

A neutral safety lockout can cause the very symptoms you describe. Try shifting from park to low and back a few times and see if it changes anything. You can also try starting it in neutral instead of park.
He thought the battery was dead, so we jumped it off of my Expedition. No, the battery wasn't dead. :rolleyes:

I was wondering if someone would bring this up. It's a 5-speed (manual) and it doesn't have a neutral safety switch.... or at least not that he's noticed. It'll start in ANY gear as long as the clutch is in. Odd? I'll fiddle with the shifter and see if that's the issue later.

·
ALSO AVAILABLE IN SOBER
7,457 Posts
He thought the battery was dead, so we jumped it off of my Expedition. No, the battery wasn't dead. :rolleyes: