Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So my mechanic is about to perform first ever drain and fill it (seems) on my newly acquired 2004 camry 4 cylinder with the u241e transmission. (170k) I am a little nervous because I have no background on the transmission/car other than one owner. The fluid is coffee brown and smells like old motor oil or crayons and not like burnt toast or some of the other things I have heard. It's also not thick and not completely black. We are using type 4 original toyota fluid changing the filter cleaning the pan.. could I have any of you guys stories of high mileage changes on your Toyotas and what the outcome was. The transmission changes fine it's just somewhat jerky in lower gears at stop signs. Any advice would be appreciated!

·
Registered
2,878 Posts
Check for YouTube videos on the procedure for doing that on the correct model year (or at least same generation) of vehicle with same transmission. Check out multiple videos if you can them, because some of them are better than others, and not all of them are done by people who know what they are doing.

The procedure for doing it on a 2004 is likely to be very different than on the newer models which sometimes specify "lifetime" transmission fluid.

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
So I just wanted to say that I do feel a noticeable difference in the toyota after the drain and fill. It may be a little early to see but I guess time will tell. My mechanic said that the pan looked great for the mileage and had no sludge or sediment so that was awesome news. He thinks it may of been changed once before but we are both still not 100 percent sure. I will keep you guys updated so maybe I can help end the no drain and fill or flush debate...

·
2010 Camry SE V6
2008 Camry LE
3,135 Posts