Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
1,535 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I wanted to know who makes a Good oscilloscope for auto diagnostics. If anyone has any info that would be great. Thanks.

·
Registered
1995 T100 2WD
1,770 Posts
I'm in the Aviation Industry, Field work. Ours is an older version of this one, not sure of the model # since it's out of the shop being used by another A&P.

Also, Good resource for research.

·
Registered
1,535 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Sdspeed. I do my own work on my cars. I am a beginner to oscilloscopes. Thanks for the help. Do you know and good oscilloscopes that are cheap for a beginner. Thanks.

·
Registered
1995 T100 2WD
1,770 Posts
I use a multi-meter a lot and have very little time on a scope besides ocassionaly at work and when I was in college when hand-held scopes didn't exist :( Not my strong suit!
I've been a auto/aircraft mechanic for close to 50 years and besides while working in the avionics shop many years ago have rarely ever used or needed one so I'm probably the wrong person to ask. I guess if I were considering one I'd decide based on what I intended to do with it, set a budget and read about various units from sites like the one I mentioned. Use that research to pick a unit and then Google used ones that have a guarantee on them.
A lot of industries upgrade constantly so good clean units are out their. Check Industrial Auction sites too.
Example:

·
Registered
08 Toyota Camry 2AZ-FE R9K Tuned
5,221 Posts
Just curious , how do you plan on using one in the automotive arena?
I wanna say the oscilloscope can be used for... coil packs, crank sensors, cam sensors, stuff like that. I like my Fluke... 87? 89? multi-meter because it does a lot of the work for you and is easy to understand. Probably my favorite tool in my tool box because of how great it is for electrical diagnosis. Power probes are great too.

·
Registered
1995 T100 2WD
1,770 Posts