Toyota Nation Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Salvage96TercelRebuild
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was on YouTube and was watching some Eric The Car Guy, when I got into the comments and ended up making quite a long winded argument regarding why its better to own a POS than a new car. I figured I spent all that time, and everyone in the Tercel section owns a "POS" (based off standards in our American culture) I figured I would share it with you all.

Don't let people who own new cars make you feel bad. They are idiots. And this is why:

MY ORIGINAL POST:
"I bought my 1996 Toyota Tercel for $500. The previous owner (my old boss) wrecked it. I put it back together (enough) and I've been driving it for like 4 years. I replaced the battery, starter, and the wiring to and from the aforementioned. It starts every time, and it has never left me stranded. The body looks horrible, but here is what I can do that you new car owners cant/shouldn't/won't do...

Do you live in a city and use parking garages every day? If there is no attendant, as is the case at the parking garage I use - I just pull up to the barrier arm, slowly pull forward until it is close enough to reach out and grab, then I just push it up and keep pulling forward. Once it is on the roof, I just let it drag down the back of the car... lol If you do the math... 5 days a week @ $5.. 52 weeks.. $1300 a year. Um yeah.. car paid for almost three times just over the coarse of 1 year. (Don't give me any shit about "stealing" parking.. IDGAF if you lilke it or not. Get a POS and you won't have to pay either)

You ever get home from work on trash day and your empty trash cans are blocking you from getting the mail??? Well I don't have that problem, I just bump them out of the way...

Ever follow a buddy with another POS? I like to give him a little bumpercar-like "nudge" at a stop light. Its always hilarious. Sometimes they do it back, in reverse... Its all fair in love and war, right?