Toyota Nation Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All, I have a 2021 Black Venza LE with 6,616 miles that I purchased in May. I have never had a car that I am still learning features after six months. I learned on this forum recently that the Venzas come with hands free power back door, however I have not been able to get the kick sensor to activate. So, there is one of two conclusions. The first is that I am doing something wrong, although I have watched the video and it seems simple. The second conclusion is that the LE does not come with the hands free power back door, however it appears from the advertising that it is a feature for all three models. The manual has interesting wording: "Using the kick sensor (vehicles with Hands Free Power Back Door)." Usually, the manual references that a feature is not available on a particular model, but this leads me to believe some LEs have the hands free power back door and some do not. Also, there does not seem to be an election in the settings display to turn the sensor on or off. Any of you know whether some (or all) LEs do not have this feature? Thanks all.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
You’ll need your key fob on you and when kicking its a continuous kicking up/down motion. Do not stop on your up kick.
I've had my key fob on me, but admittedly I may not be kicking correctly. Earlier this evening, I probably looked like I was having a good dance with the Venza, and never could get it to work. But I will continue trying. Thank you.

·
Premium Member
2021 Avalon XSE Hybrid
5,544 Posts
It's touchy, and I find it unreliable.
You have to be standing back enough so the gate will clear you when it passes in front of you, so you need to be about 2ft back. Any closer and it'll ignore you.
Of course, standing 2ft back means 3 if you are holding a box.

·
Registered
838 Posts