Toyota Nation Forum banner

HEADLIGHT PROBLEM: High beams work...low beams don't!!!

253K views 19 replies 13 participants last post by  Vangm25 
#1 ·
Hey,
I have searched on this forum for an answer but haven't yet turned up anything that helps. I have a Gen 4. I have checked all of my fuses just to make sure they were all good. My low beams do not work at all. However, my high beams work fine. If i have the low beams turned on, there is nothing. When i turn on the high beams, they work fine. Heres the wierd part though. When i turn on my high beams, the light on the dash saying the bright lights are on doesnt light up??? What is going on. I have the repair manual and have tried looking in the too. Im not too good with wiring diagrams. PLEASE HELP!!!! I do not like driving down the road at night and having every single car that passes me flash their lights at me because they think i don't realize my brights are on!!!!

#4 ·
replace the bulbs first. Or you can get a DVM and check your voltage to verify you are getting voltage to the socket. I used to see them all the time with both low beams not working and it was the bulbs.

#5 ·
ok...they both just went out at once...i got off work...went to turn on my lights...and then...BAM...they were both off. So i don't know that the bulbs messed up at the same time...but who knows. I did have reverse guages but took them out. come to think of it, since i did that, my clock and my cig lighter have not been working and i have been trying to figure out whats up with them. no fuse problems. Where do i check with a voltage meeter??? how would i be sure the switch was bad. What about my clock and lighter???
Thanks so much!

#6 ·