Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
nice doorhandles
97 camry
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
:headbang:I am in the middle of putting in a new head gasket on my 97Camry2.2. I am presently trying to take out the timing belt and then water pump as I am also replacing these too. I am completely stuck trying to remove the 'crankshaft pulley bolt'. I have a Haynes repair manual. It is teling me to wedge a crowbar in the flywheel/driveplate gear teeth, and in order to get to the teeth I need to remove the 'flywheel/driveplate inspection cover'. But now the book is sending me in virtual circles on how to do this. I am lost, completely lost. No way can I afford to pay a mechanic to do this for me, and I have no experience whatsoever. The biggest mistakes I've made so far is having my family members help me out. One brother had me spinning the crankshaft while the timing belt was still on, which apparently has thrown the alignment of the valves all outta whack, causing me to have to do even more work to repair. Will someone please help me out here. Throw me a bone. Point me in the right direction please. How can I get this da-gonned pulley bolt off without causing even more damage................... -FIRST TIMER-

·
Registered
552 Posts
The easiest way by far is to use an impact gun, I'll assume that you don't have one. The flywheel inspection cover is on the bottom of the transmission bell housing near the oil pan. It should have some 10mm or 12mm bolts holding it on, and If I remember correctly a bracket that has to come off as well. You could also take out the starter and get to it through that hole. I've never had to take a crank pulley off without an impact gun, so maybe someone else will have some better tips for you.

One brother had me spinning the crankshaft while the timing belt was still on, which apparently has thrown the alignment of the valves all outta whack