Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
242 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm no mechanic, but this friend of mine use to be a mechanic before he went into IT.

He first treats his 2000 corolla with Marvel Mystery Oil from Kragen. 1 quart added to his engine oil cheap 20-50. After 500 miles, he changes oil and filter, and he repeats to a used car about 3 times. Supposedly the Marvel Myster Oil removes sledges and gunk.

When the engine is all clean, he adds 1 quart of slick 50 and 3 quarts of synthetic 20-50. He uses the Kragen Fram Tough Guard filter. He claims:

a) he never changed his oil about 50,000 to 60,000 miles nor does he change the filter.

b) he said the color of his oil is golden yellow.

Can someone think about this? I change my oil every 3000 miles. Question I have is: will the filter hold up?

He said his corolla now has over 300,000 miles! In addition, he never changes his transmission oil. He only adds to it. He said there's no reason people need to change transmission oil as the oil is only a "hydrolic system." He says there's just a different school of thought.

I know this may sound ridiculous, but give it some thought first. :headbang:

Thanks.

·
Lets Do It!
66 Posts
I call BS, no way is it golden yellow still. Thick black tar is more like it.

·
Registered
43 Posts
Like i said in the other thread. BS. and golden yellow...no way. check the oil yourself its its golden yellow then he changes it all the time. and if thats the case knock him out for trying to trick you into tearing up your car with this stupid oil idea.

if your interested in long oil intervals use amsoil and filter. oil last 12,500 miles and filter 25,000 miles. thats the best your going to get but its not cheap. its cheaper in the long run but at that oil and filter change its expensive.

·
Registered
242 Posts
Discussion Starter #7