Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi I'm a newbie on the toyota forums. I normally lurk around the diesel stop for performance and maintence issues on my powerstroke but I'm having trouble with my toyota pickup.

Today after about 20 minutes of driving the truck started bucking, at first I thought it was the clutch but it seems to be a motor/fuel delivery problem etc. It would buck in all gears, at times I could put the pedal to the floor and it would do nothing then it would accelerate for a second or so then flat line again. after a few minutes it cleared up. On my way back home after about 20 minutes driving it started it again. I would put it in neutral and try to rev it and would get the same acceleration flatline symptoms. When I got it home I popped the hood and played with it a little. it seemed when I opened the air filter box and fiddled with the flapper in the intake hose it helped a little. Tomorrrow I plan to change the fuel filter. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I checked for codes and got none. changed plugs and wires about 2 months ago.
It is a 92 pickup 4cyl EFI 5spd.

Thanks

·
Offical Truck Nut
1990 Toyota
428 Posts
no go

Change your fuel filter , mine did the same thing . its infront of the passanger side back tire.

·
Banned
2,353 Posts
if its a 22re its under the intake manifold. id say it needs a major tune up. plugs wires fuel filter air filter. cap and rotor. also run some injector cleaner through before you change the fuel filter. otherwise all the crap that busts loose before the filter will get stuck in the new one.

·
Banned
Camry / 2WD Pickup
601 Posts
Daily,

How many miles on the truck?

Just curious.

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Truck has approx 115,000 miles. Just did plugs and wires and air filter is new. I just picked up a fuel filter from oreilly's this afternoon I guess I'll run some sea foam through the motor before I change it.