Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

This is my first post here. I've got an 88 Camry I'm trying to get fixed up so it'll be drivable again. I've got most of it done, however, the only problem preventing a successful state inspection is that my hi-beam indicator in the instrument panel does not work.

I took it for inspection and as the guy was checking it, he said that it came on and then he saw smoke coming out of the steering wheel on the side, and then the light went off. I tried it again later, and even though the indicator did not turn on when I turned on the beam, I did see the smoke he was talking about. But it doesn't happen anymore. The light just doesn't work.

I've read the forums about how to replace bulbs in there and I think I may be able to do it (a total newbie at this kind of stuff). I just don't understand why smoke should be coming out of the wheel. Are there some wires in there that may have shorted or burnt out? All other indicators and lights in the panel work fine. The only one that doesn't work is the hi beam one. Would appreciate any help. Thanks.

·
Registered
98 Posts
My guess would be that the little bulb for the indicator shorted or overloaded to the point that it burned-out violently.

I'd suggest you get behind the gauge cluster and find that bulb. Replace the bulb, and see what happens. Mind you I am purely specuating on the cause of the smoke. If you don't already, get a repair manual. It will show you how to get back there.
Hopefully, someone else will be able to post with more or better information than my own.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #3