Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1996 Corolla DX
91 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello. I have a 96 Corolla DX (65k miles) with everything stock as far as the engine is concerned. How can I get better acceleration and speed? Cold Air Intake? Seafoam? Any suggestions? I'm a noob by the way.

·
Registered
567 Posts
Yeah!

The only bad thing to happen to mine in 7 years owned was at about 80,000 miles when I drove eradically on the way to my sister's wedding. I was gunning the engine with the ac blaring at about 95 degrees for an hour because I thought I would be late. Then on the way back home that night I guess I didn't get over it and gunned it again pretty hard while going up a long hill. I thought I had a race car. The tranny broke ($1300).

My point: this is not a race car. Whenever I go over 60 mph I worry that something bad will happen. This is a grandma car:eek:: But with the uncertainty of fuels in the Obama future, I am pretty happy that I don't buy something better. I am proud of this beater:smokin:

·
Registered
1996 Corolla DX
91 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Well, I don't want it to be a race car and I know its not a race car, I just want to do little, low cost things that would give it better acceleration and MPG. Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
567 Posts
If you don't know the status on the following, change it anyway:

iridium plugs: get ngk (cheapest)
wires: toyota (expensive)
cap and rotor
seafoam: brake booster, crankcase (then change), gas tank, throttle body (toothbrush too)
k & N air filter (less resistance)
You can drill holes in the air filter box on the inward side.

·
Registered
1997 Corolla CE
160 Posts
If you don't know the status on the following, change it anyway:

iridium plugs: get ngk (cheapest)
wires: toyota (expensive)
cap and rotor
seafoam: brake booster, crankcase (then change), gas tank, throttle body (toothbrush too)
k & N air filter (less resistance)