Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I've been reading thru many posts and threads whether it be someone debating gas vs hybrid or hybrid vs car X Y or Z, or what's your average mpg posts, I seem to come across a post that says something to the effect of "if you learn how to drive your HyHi right, you can maximize your avg mpg to 30+ on the regular".

Could or would anyone be willing to explain or kindly school me on the what to do/not to do on extending my mileage to gas usage? I'm new to my hybrid and on top of that I'm new to this "automatic" stuff... after 20 years of driving a manual, where you FEEL the car to get to know it and it's sweet spots, I get into my new HyHi and I hear and feel NOTHING. Its so weirdly quiet!!! I need an intro or crash course into the rights and wrongs.

·
Registered
8 Posts
im a old school vw diesel hyper mile expert, seen 65mpg on a 1985 golf diesel and I just picked up my HiHy, these are really cool suv's, whenever the brake lights are on in eco mode it charges the battery so on a long downhill just lightly press on the brake, i avoid putting it in the B mode as it also uses the ICE to give braking thus wasting some of your kinetic energy that would be better used charging. I also turn off the heat and ac once the ICE is warmed up so it can switch to EV more often.

·
Registered
391 Posts
I avoid putting it in the B mode as it also uses the ICE to give braking thus wasting some of your kinetic energy that would be better used charging.
I'm not sure about this. The Weber Auto YouTube seems to indicate that when "B" mode is selected it uses the resistance of both electric motors (M1 and M2) whereas it normally just uses the regenerative braking of just M2 when you put your foot on the brake pedal in "D" mode.

It's mentioned at about 17:30 mins into the video.