Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
If you have front end knock going straight over bumps this may be your problem. It was for me. Just a little back ground for you guys. I purchased a late year model 2005 tacoma a couple months ago and it was perfect no prolems of any kind. Then about a couple hundred miles ago I developed a knock in my front suspension as I would go over bumps, potholes, speedbumps etc. Since I hate dealers with a passion taking it there was not an option. So I decided to attempt to soleve this problem myself. I am a pretty good mechanic (was a business jet mechanic for 5 years) so I have troubleshooted stranger problems than this. I jacked the truck up and then proceeded to check the torque of every single bolt on the left suspension. I started from the very bottom and worked my way up to the top. when I got to the top of the strut I noticed that the shock absorber nut had a gap between it and the big flat washer that compreses the upper shock absorber bushing against the top of the strut. At first I though that the nut was loose, but further inspection revealed that the nut was tightened all the way down. So what was producing this gap that allowed the shock to flop around in its hole with no tension on it causing the knock? The answer is the lower shock absorber bushing had somehow moved down and over the lip on the shock shaft that is susposed to keep it tensioned against the bottom of the top of the strut. So I disassembled the strut moved the bottom shock bushing back to where it is susposed to be and reassembled and that fixed my problem. If it does it again I am going to put a big washer on the shock shaft and then slide the bottom bushing on it so there is not chance of it happening again. I hope that this may be useful to some of you guys and I hope that I explained it well enough. :D

·
Registered
848 Posts