Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2006 Avalon
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know someone on this site has done this and walked away a happier man or woman. I just need to be pointed in the right direction as I am brand new to car audio. Apparently this is the wrong car to try and install a system in. If you remove the head unit you lose your climate control is how it was explained to me. There has to be a work around for this. I was also told that if you remove the head unit you must re-wire the whole audio system because you have to bypass the digital amp. This is truly frustrating so I am bringing my questions to those for have gone before me. Any help would be greatly appreciated.:thumbsup:
(2006 Avalon 6 disk changer JBL)

·
Registered
310 Posts
They make a harness to retain the climate control display on the blue screen if you install an aftermarket radio. If you have a limited like I do then you need that harness plus another harness that will allow you to keep your factory amp to run your speakers. I wrote a diy install with pics to try to help out other avalon limited owners that wanted an aftermarket radio. I installed a kenwood excelon kvt-819. It's a single din 7in. flip out screen with dvd player and also added sirius and nav.

·
Registered
47 Posts
They make a harness to retain the climate control display on the blue screen if you install an aftermarket radio. If you have a limited like I do then you need that harness plus another harness that will allow you to keep your factory amp to run your speakers. I wrote a diy install with pics to try to help out other avalon limited owners that wanted an aftermarket radio. I installed a kenwood excelon kvt-819. It's a single din 7in. flip out screen with dvd player and also added sirius and nav.
well said.