Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
The Fury
Corolla S
76 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all!

I'm thinking of purchasing a short ram intake system for my 1ZZ. Researching here and in different forums I've come to the conclusion that this will be the best mod for me. I did not choose a Cold air intake because here in florida with all the hurricanes and flooding we get each year is not very healthy for the motor. I dont want a fart can exhaust, Its not cool when your parked somewhere with a girl with the AC on having a good time in the car and all you hear is the exhaust purring I dont know but its anoying to me. Also I'm a working student and I dont race or mistreat my car I need it as a reliable transportation. This will sound kind of stupid, but will this mod kill my motor? The airbox is there for a reason other than restrict some airflow. I know the motor with the short ram will suck in hot air around it which brings another dumb question. Will the higher temperature of the air damage my MAF sensor? Last but not least, this higher temperature air will reach the intake manifold and enter the engine which brings my last dumb question of the day. Will the higher temperature air (been less dense at a higher temperature) enrich the fuel/Air mixture. Thanks gentleman. ;)

·
nismo_TRD = win
05' rolla
7 Posts
im about to do the same(buy a short ram intake), and i live in miami too, and im a student so i see where you're coming from with the racing thing, my poor rolla travels about 50 miles every day and i have the same question as you regarding the fact that with a short ram, the filter is gonna suck up all the hot air.:whatthe: . if anyone knows an answer it would be great to hear from you..and in my opinion, short ram isnt the way to go for the rolla, and even though we live in miami, cold air would be better

·
Resident asshole
Corolla
9,552 Posts
Heres my intake system