Toyota Nation Forum banner

just bought a 91 Tercel help a noob

1570 7
Hey guys, Yes im a noob so take it easy on me. I own a 02 civic but me and my dad bought a 91 tercel le 5spd 2dr as a second car and winter beater. Now I think I might have got ripped off on this car cause the owner before the guy who I bought it from was an auto wrecker, Now the car looks good inside and out and runs great for a 91, excpet it makes a weird noise only when making hard right turns. any idea what this might be? Im also concerned the odometer might have been rolled back, what should I check on the car to amke sure its in good condition? How good are these 1.5L 12valve engines anyways? I bought the tercel because of there reputation of reliablity and the engines running forever with low maitenance. Did i amke a good choice? any help or advice or tips from you toyota owners would be greatly appreciated.:)
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
My Dixie Wrecked
647 Posts
Personally, if the car is just meant to be a beater, I wouldn't care about that noise at all. It's probably just a suspension mount with at bad bearing, or maybe a cv joint. Nothing serious. As long as the engine runs good, that's the most important thing.
Those engine's are super reliable. The only flaw I'm aware of is the valve seals. But that's not a big deal either so long as you don't mind adding oil on a regular basis.
Man, I love beaters!

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Ok man thanks alot, thats reassuring. Ive been reading a bunch of your posts and it seems like you are very knowledgeable on tercels. Is there anything you recommend to keep the engine running strong and getting the most out of it??? also do you know of anywhere to get cheap parts for my tercel if it does need repairs?

·
Toy-Cel
1,114 Posts
Ya you made great choice, as far as the engine being reliable....