Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just purchased a 1997 GTT and am having a few worries about some problems I've since noticed...

1 - The largest one (which I was aware of before purchase) is an exhaust manifold leak (presumably the classic gasket issue I've read about). I'm an engineering student and have access to a workshop so I plan to remove the manifold, resurface it, tap & helicoil the head, insert new studs and bolt the thing back on with a new gasket. I've read about installing an additional stud but it sounds hard and I'd rather not - is this wise?

2 - I've also discovered that the PCV-cap-tube thing won't stay on the valve cover, after a short period of driving it tends to blow off and I can hear a loud hissing. Can I glue this down with something?

3 - I've found that what I presume is the air flow sensor (back of the air filter box, Denso sticker on it, rubber thing inside) keeps detaching from the box. I've duct taped this temporarily but I figure I can glue this up.

4 - The car had a boost gauge and controller installed by it's previous-previous owner (so I was told) I have the controller set as low as possible yet the gauge registers 15+ Psi boost under heavy accel. Could this be right? Or due to a combination of the things mentioned above?

Any help/advice/reassurance would be hugely appreciated.

Sorry that was long!

·
Registered
2 Posts
your turbo problems.........

16psi is the level in which the turbo peaks too. the factory actuator/internal wastegate will open at 16psi and will drop the pressure to around 14psi that's all at full throttle the ecu has turbo sensors and will be throwing codes if something is worng. With an aftermarket boost tap you can only wind up the boost you cannot wind it down. you will need to change the actuator to be able to wind it down because it will not open till you hit that 16psi mark.