Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Toyota Collector
12,024 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just picked up my 2001 LE today, had to pull the valve cover to see if I had a sludged engine! Would this be considered normal deposits? The valve cover has more crud on it then I was expecting. My 87 Camry has over 370,000 kilometers and is absolutely spotless. (used synthetic oil for most of it's life)

Car has 81,000 kilometers. (see pic)

here is a hi-rez pic of the engine.

·
TN Pussy Man
Camry
13,302 Posts
that looks about right for an engine that's used dino for most of it's life

·
Toyota Collector
12,024 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the reply. Another question, should I do some type of oil flush/cleaner? I've never used one before and not sure of the value/dangers of doing an oil flush.

·
Registered
07 XLE Camry
1,299 Posts
looks like my eng when i changed the gasket thing.. but i didnt have the dark sludge or whatever on the inside top of the valve cover thing

you only have 81k
wow

·
Toyota Collector
12,024 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 · (Edited)
abew330 said:
you only have 81k
wow
Yea I'm suspicious too. I couldn't find any evidence that the odo was tampered with or otherwise not legit. The engine bay looks like new, the car drives like new as well. The person that owned it traded it in for a $60,000 Infiniti M45.

·
Registered
Camry
6,925 Posts
It could be that the previous owner made lots of short trips around town or had a different method of transportation.

When I was living in San Francisco, I rode my bicycle and utilized public transit a lot and I only drove 11200-12600 km (7000-8000 miles) in the 15 months I had the car. During that same time period, I put about 4000 km (2500miles) on my bicycle. I usually only drove if the weather was really bad, as in raining or below 10 C or 50 F, for my commute and the rest of the the miles on my car were for longer trips when I left town.

·
Toyota Collector
12,024 Posts