Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
09 Acc. Cab Off Rd.
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Guys! This is my first time posting on here so please bear with me. I am sure this has been covered but I was hoping to get some advice from someone with an 09, or if there is no difference between 09 and other year models, then lay the advice on me. I have an 09 access cab TRD 4x4 6-spd. What lift, wheels, backspacing, width of wheels and uca's do I need to clear a set of 285's with no trimming to the truck? I thank you in advance for any help you can give me.

·
Registered
2007 Tacoma DC Sport
504 Posts
:welcome:

With 285's you HAVE to do some minor trimming if you want to go with a 3" lift which I am assuming you want to do.

·
Registered
09 Acc. Cab Off Rd.
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you for the welcome, I am glad to be here. When you say minor trimming, where do I have to trim? What is tha biggest tire I can put on with a 3" lift?

·
Toyotanation
6,972 Posts
welcome to TN!

Did you try and do a search? You'll find tons of information on this subject.

You can also check out my link in my sig under the picture of my truck. I have pictures of the fender trim I had to do for 285"

Good Luck!

·
let's go...mountaineers!
2006 Tacoma SR5 DC
240 Posts
:welcome: to TN, i was new here a few months ago and searching is what i was told to do too. you can find a lot of answers but ill help you out as much as i can

i have moto metal 951 wheels 17x9 with 4.5" backspacing and 285/70/17 wheels on a 3" lift. tires do not rub on the control arms at all with that backspacing. my stock wheels had a 5.5" backspacing i believe and they rubbed on the upper control arms. i did have to trim on the inner fender wells.