Toyota Nation Forum banner

61 - 80 of 152 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
7 Posts
Hey TN! Ok, after splicing into the wire and installing a switch, yesterday was the first day of testing it out since it's my commuter car I had time to fully test the mod. This is what I observed, since you have to switch it off to get the greyed out icons highlighted while the vehicle is in motion, right? When you switch it off, your movement on the navi thinks your at a stop or in park.

I left the switch on the off position the whole time driving into work. After work I find the navi moving while I was in motion to pick up my kids and second guessing myself that I never switched it back to the on position. Hit the phone icon and was able to to use the dial pad, from there I knew that I didn't switch over the toggle.

So, all in all.... This mod I think could be an easy mod and no material needed to spend on. How? I think all you need is to pull out the speed sensor wire lead #17 and your done, reinstall HU, heater vents and dash panels. I'm not 100% sure if it'll work but base off what I observed I think it will work. The switch is just a feature to turn on and off the highlighted grey icons and give power to the speed sensor by the toggle switch.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
204 Posts
So, all in all.... This mod I think could be an easy mod and no material needed to spend on. How? I think all you need is to pull out the speed sensor wire lead [URL=http://www.toyotanation.com/forum/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=17]#17 [/URL] and your done, reinstall HU, heater vents and dash panels. I'm not 100% sure if it'll work but base off what I observed I think it will work. The switch is just a feature to turn on and off the highlighted grey icons and give power to the speed sensor by the toggle switch.
If this operates the same way as the PrestigiousSociety.com kit works, you flip the added switch (the switch is just a SPST switch which makes/breaks the continuity in the #17 wire) which disables the NAV system from seeing any movement in the car. After you flip the switch you do the enroute NAV functions, phone dialing, etc. Then you have to flip the switch back so the NAV can catch up with where you actually are presently.

As long as the wire is disconnected, like via the switch, the car thinks it is standing still and the NAV positioning won't work until it catches up again.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7 Posts
Some things to note are that while this allows you to interact with the navigation and phone systems as if you were parked, the GPS will not update your position on the map when you have the speed sense wire disconnected. This is because you are tricking the Navigation system into thinking you are not moving. Rest assured though that once you do connect the speed sense back in (flip the switch back) the GPS will update your position. My experience was in about 10-20 seconds at most my location was updated. <----- not necessarily true, I noticed recently that my position still updated while driving and the speed sense was disconnected. your mileage may vary.
[MENTION=92596]@whitser - tillithz said it him self also that he noticed the position still updated while no connectivity to the speed sensor which the switch is on the off position. I notice the same.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
357 Posts
Discussion Starter #64
ive found that there is little difference now with the system updating with or without the speed sense connected. I can probably contribute this to good sat signal.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
204 Posts
@whitser - tillithz said it him self also that he noticed the position still updated while no connectivity to the speed sensor which the switch is on the off position. I notice the same.
OK, must be a different system than in the older Lexi's. Pin 17 must only dictate the movement to the 'granny' lockouts, i.e. phone, etc.
Very Good!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
Hi - new to the forum but not new to Toyota cars and trucks....I have the 2014 Highlander LE plus w/o the navigation system. I want to "unlock" the phone / message restriction. Would the same instructions work for my version. Disconnecting or using a switch on pin 17? If that is correct is there another location to access the pin 17 wire somewhere else in the car with easier access. Is the speed sensor used for other applications other then the navigation phone lockout? Has anyone followed pin 17 wire in the wiring diagram to see if another location has easier access or can direct me to one I can examine. Any help would be appreciated.....
 

·
2015 Highlander Ltd Plt
Highlander 2015 LtdP
Joined
·
15 Posts
No help? Or has this topic been buried for too long...
Wish I could. My guess is most of us have the nav system and therefore just don't know the answer.

Actually, I was going to post earlier to let everyone know that I can also attest that simply keeping the wire disconnected lets us have the best of both worlds. It takes about 3 minutes the first time, but from then on it just works, even after stopping and starting the car again. I do think this is something they could change in a software release, but doubt they will. So while I have a switch installed, I agree that I would simply cut the wire - you can always just add it later. This likely explains the "disconnect" between people's experiences.

I refrained on making that post because I wanted to give your question focus to be answered. Perhaps someone has access to the wiring diagrams for the LE w/out navigation...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
357 Posts
Discussion Starter #69
its always best to test it for yourself anyways, dont just go by what people type on a forum unless you dont mind mistakes.

the speed sense for the head unit makes sense that it is behind the dash and either on the computer or right behind the head unit. it doesnt make sense that the speed sense that is connected to the radio travels along the floor to the back tail lights and is sitting in a plug waiting for you to cut it. So just pull the head unit and check wiring and do the mod. then you can enjoy it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
Thanks - dmpace and tillithz for the replies.... I was hoping not to have to pull the head unit :) but when I do the mod I will do the reverse camera mod too and make it all worthwhile...Thanks for figuring it out in the first place.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
36 Posts
Thanks for the great instructions! I did the mod on my 2015 Limited last night, it works great. When break the connection, my location does NOT update and it takes a minute or so for the location to catch up after throwing the switch to the closed position. I ran the wires to the coin box by the drivers door until the swtich come in later this week. Here's the link for the switch I ordered: [ame]http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001TL9S0M/ref=od_aui_detailpages00?ie=UTF8&psc=1[/ame]

It took me about 90 minutes to get it done. Dismantling the dash would be much quicker the second time around.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
What do you think about getting factory/Toyota switches that were originally intended for some other purpose, to perform the functions of your rocker switches? I know on my 2015 XLE there are plenty of blank switch panels, so I was thinking it would be nicer to have factory pushbutton switches than the obviously aftermarket rocker switches. Just wondering what YOU think, tillithz!

Thanks!

Ken N
2015 Highlander
Santa Clarita, CA
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
13 Posts
Actually that's what I am looking into. It seems OEM switch run about 50$+ and not exactly sure which would work best. Then ebay has these rocker switches for about 29$ which I think should work. I asked the seller last night if those would pop right in. We'll see but if anyone finds any nice ones at a decent price let me know.

For ebay search "rocker push switch Toyota"
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
357 Posts
Discussion Starter #75
they would look nicer for sure. the cost though is a lot more. the knock out is alot cheaper I am sure to replace later when reversing the mod to sell the vehicle.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
WOW! Thanks for the search criteria, JCae2798! That company "AIR ON BOARD" has LOTS of switches and accessories that fit right into original mounting holes!

I found this one that looks PERFECT for the backup camera:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Push-switch...der-/251867736133?vxp=mtr&hash=item3aa47ca845

And with a total price of about $35 delivered, I don't think I'd go with a generic rocker switch no matter how much less it cost! And I don't think I'll be removing the switch when I sell the vehicle, either! I think the buyer would love the mod!

Ken Newman
2015 Highlander
Santa Clarita, CA
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
right! except in the "what vehicles this fits" category, it says that it's for Highlanders 2001-2007, so I'm doubting that it will fit my 2015 correctly...maybe they'll come out with one like that for later Highlanders...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15 Posts
So I apologize if I missed this after reading through the thread, but has anyone successfully done this mod on a non JBL XLE?

I'm interested in doing this today, but I would hate to pull the headunit only to find that it's wired differently and wouldn't work.
 
61 - 80 of 152 Posts
Top