Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2009 Venza V6 AWD
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #1

This message and a warning chime come up every time the driver's door is opened, but the moon roof is fully closed and even went through a car wash without issue. Thoughts on how to fix this?

Maybe unrelated, but it also does not open more than half of the opening. Is this normal? As one might guess I'm new to the Venza as of a couple of days.

·
Registered
2009 Venza V6 AWD
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Oh, and it appears the tilt up/down rocker buttons don't work at all. Something is clearly not right. My thought is to check the fuse (#12, 25A) in the driver footwell fuse box. But since the roof does move, I wouldn't expect the fuse to be blown.

Another thought is if a sensor is malfunctioning or needs to be cleaned or aligned, but I don't know where that would be.

·
Registered
2010 Venza
17 Posts
Oh, and it appears the tilt up/down rocker buttons don't work at all. Something is clearly not right. My thought is to check the fuse (#12, 25A) in the driver footwell fuse box. But since the roof does move, I wouldn't expect the fuse to be blown.

Another thought is if a sensor is malfunctioning or needs to be cleaned or aligned, but I don't know where that would be.
If you search this forum for "Moon Roof" and choose "Moon roof opening when vehicle is turned off?" you will find a calibration procedure you may want to try.

·
Registered
2009 Venza V6 AWD
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
Thanks, I found that thread, and every other one that seemed relevant:

Unfortunately none of the attempts at initializing the sliding roof worked, partly because the tilt up/down buttons do absolutely nothing in my case. Another post suggested the problem can be dirty switches, which is seeming likely:

Before attempting a disassembly of parts not intended to be taken apart, I took a look at the diagnostics in the service manual: