Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
136 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Not good...not good.

Well, I was driving home from work in Vacaville. I pull up in the parking spot in my apartment complex and I see steam or something coming out.

It seems my valve cover is leaking oil and my dad tightened it but didn't replace the valve gasket so it didn't get better...much even worst. I was wondering if anybody knew anyone in Davis, CA who can help me get this fixed?

I would do it myself but I have no space to work it here and I don't want to drive too far to get it fixed. I really dont' have the time either as I'm going to school and just started work.

HELPS!!

UGGH...I hope my Camry will be ok.

Oh...if someone is willing to come and tell me what parts to buy, I will pay you to help me fix it. I can't pay you top money. I'm a starving college student but yea, I don't think it's a hard fix. I have work Tuesday morning so I need it fixed ASAP.

Sigh...thx guys.

·
Registered
633 Posts
First off no worries !!! This is not a serious problem !!! First advice is to top up some oil when necessary and you can go on driving that way for a long time, so there is no urgency in this.

Very frankly I am sure you can do it yourself provided you have a few tools. The part itself is very cheap too. This will take you no more than 30 minutes (this is if you can't find anyone to help you...).

Can you let us know the year and model of your car ? 4 cylinder engine ?

·
Registered
136 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hi, thx for the reply but it's a 89 Camry, 3sfe so it's a 4-cylinder.

It's a bit hard since I'm away from home for schooling so I'm limited to the tools. My roommates don't have tools as well and I'm not mechanically inclined to.

I believe there is a parts store around this area but I hope it's ok to drive there and back.

·
Registered
633 Posts