Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Banned
2006 Lincoln Zephyr
Joined
·
1,290 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay, I really need a little assitance on this one. The shop where my car resides is trying to finish up the swap. They noticed that this engine has an external coil ignition system as opposed to the internal one on my old 3sfe. The coil on this engine however is missing. Is it possible to use my old 3sfe stuff and convert it to an internal system or do I need to go steal the parts off the USDM 3sfe that was in the rav 4 which should also have the external coil(which I am not even 100% sure that it does). Does anyone know about this for sure? Do I need a new ECU to make this function correctly. I just figured my old 3sfe ECU should work fine.

Also, is there a different mount on these late model 3sfe's? It seems like we may have to fab a left side engine mount. Is this right? I thought it mounted just like the original 3sfe.
 

·
Grenaded piston
Joined
·
6,523 Posts
Talisman18 said:
Is it possible to use my old 3sfe stuff and convert it to an internal system
Should be possible.

Swap over the ignition setup (distributor, ignitor, etc..) from your old engine.

Do I need a new ECU to make this function correctly. I just figured my old 3sfe ECU should work fine.
The old ECU should work fine.

Your using the new engine as a longblock (block & head) and swapping all the accesories from your old engine? Correct?

Also, is there a different mount on these late model 3sfe's? It seems like we may have to fab a left side engine mount. Is this right? I thought it mounted just like the original 3sfe.
No idea on the mount.
 

·
Banned
2006 Lincoln Zephyr
Joined
·
1,290 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Unfortunately. I no longer have the distributor and ignitor from my old engine. Which one would be cheaper/easier? To get the external setup for the new engine or to just use the old setup?

And yes, this engine is basically just being used as a longblock.
 

·
Registered
1990 Celica GTS
Joined
·
2,714 Posts
Get an MSD external coil :thumbup:
Or any coil from a 5S-FE, 90-91 Celica. Go hit the junkyard.
I'll say go for MSD, my 14 years coil just failed and I've switch over to MSD already.
 

·
Banned
2006 Lincoln Zephyr
Joined
·
1,290 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Can somebody post a pic of an external coil(preferebly on a 3sfe or 5sfe) so I can see what it looks likes?
 

·
Banned
2006 Lincoln Zephyr
Joined
·
1,290 Posts
Discussion Starter #9

·
Grenaded piston
Joined
·
6,523 Posts

·
Banned
2006 Lincoln Zephyr
Joined
·
1,290 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
Well I amnot sure what I am going to do now. I am letting the shop handle it. It may be aninternal setup, it may be an external one. I really don't care myself. I just want my car back.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
147 Posts
Okay, I really need a little assitance on this one. The shop where my car resides is trying to finish up the swap. They noticed that this engine has an external coil ignition system as opposed to the internal one on my old 3sfe. The coil on this engine however is missing. Is it possible to use my old 3sfe stuff and convert it to an internal system
Easily. I did it on mine. I have a JDM long block but used all the accessory components off of the tired USDM engine I swapped out.

or do I need to go steal the parts off the USDM 3sfe that was in the rav 4 which should also have the external coil(which I am not even 100% sure that it does).
Extremely doubtful that it does. Most yotas used internal coils by then, and in the mid-90s you started seeing distributorless ignition.

In any event, it does not apply to your situation, so I wouldn't worry.

Does anyone know about this for sure? Do I need a new ECU to make this function correctly. I just figured my old 3sfe ECU should work fine.
It will. The only probable hangup might be if you're dropping in a new automatic transmission. There are two autos that came on the gen 2s. The A140L and the A140E. The L is hydraulically controlled, and the E is electronically controlled. If you have an L and are putting in an E, than you might need to swap ECUs. The one I have is an A140L and I noticed some ECU modules in junkyards have "ECT" printed on them (which would only apply to the A140E equipped cars).

Also, is there a different mount on these late model 3sfe's? It seems like we may have to fab a left side engine mount. Is this right? I thought it mounted just like the original 3sfe.
Define "late model"? If its one that came out of a Vista (SV-XX) and puts out about 119hp, than it's definately the same. The left side engine mount is sort of a bitch to play with, but it'll mount up fine. Make sure that you use all the brackets from your USDM engine. If it came out of a RAV4 (approx 135hp) than I dunno, but I suspect it will still fit.

- John
 

·
Banned
2006 Lincoln Zephyr
Joined
·
1,290 Posts
Discussion Starter #13
Re: Re: NEED HELP! JDM 3sfe external coil vs. USDM internal

Kensuke said:
Easily. I did it on mine. I have a JDM long block but used all the accessory components off of the tired USDM engine I swapped out.



Extremely doubtful that it does. Most yotas used internal coils by then, and in the mid-90s you started seeing distributorless ignition.

In any event, it does not apply to your situation, so I wouldn't worry.



It will. The only probable hangup might be if you're dropping in a new automatic transmission. There are two autos that came on the gen 2s. The A140L and the A140E. The L is hydraulically controlled, and the E is electronically controlled. If you have an L and are putting in an E, than you might need to swap ECUs. The one I have is an A140L and I noticed some ECU modules in junkyards have "ECT" printed on them (which would only apply to the A140E equipped cars).



Define "late model"? If its one that came out of a Vista (SV-XX) and puts out about 119hp, than it's definately the same. The left side engine mount is sort of a bitch to play with, but it'll mount up fine. Make sure that you use all the brackets from your USDM engine. If it came out of a RAV4 (approx 135hp) than I dunno, but I suspect it will still fit.

- John
Thanks for the info. My car is a 5 speed now(used to be an auto) so the tranny stuff doesn't matter. And yeah, my engine came from either the the RAV4, Curren, Corona, etc(135-140hp version)... I am not sure exactly which one. I thought it would mount up ine but we are not sure exactly yet. I am going to call them tomorrow to see what is up especially since the car I just got to use lasted 1 1/2 days before it died on me. I want my camry back ASAP
 
1 - 13 of 13 Posts
Top