Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
NEED INFO - Toronto shops for MR2's / Buying my first MR2T

Complete noob here so be nice.

I was wondering if I can get some info on shops in the Toronto GTA area that work on MR2 Turbo's? I'm planning on getting a 92 MR2 Turbo fixer upper but want to know what I'm getting into.

1> I'm looking to do a full engine/turbo rebuild and was wondering what costs I would incur for something like this?

2> Is it better to go with a JDM engine swap?

3> What kind of prices are there for that?

4> What trouble spots should I look for when shop for MR2 Turbo's (Rust/mechanical etc)

5> Are there any real good forums for Toronto enthusiasts? (I'm coming from the VW scene which has the awesome VWVORTEX forums)

I know Japanese Automotive is awesome with these cars but he is extremely expensive and way out of my price range for this work.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!

·
Premium Member
5,005 Posts
hey...welcome to TN...

1. are u just rebuilding motor to stock specs or will be building bottom/top end to run higher boost??.....if the ct-26 is dying on you....forget the rebuild....upgrade the turbo...this should all depend on what u want to do with the car....what kind of power do u want to make should be the very first question u ask urself..this will save u time and money in the long run if ur planning ahead....

2. IMO....no.....theres been alot of owners that have made great numbers with gen2 motors....all this jdm this..jdm that...is such a load of crap.....buy into the hype if u want to....the one main advantage of the "jdm" motor...is that if u can find a gen 3 with a ct-20b turbo....

3. price will vary depending on where u go...who u know...to give u a ballpark.....i'm rebuilding my motor (arias pistons/eagle rods/arp studs/cometic hg/shimless bucket conversion/some head work/balance crank and motor/etc.....and its ranging to around the 4-5gs CAD right now.....