Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im looking for a little economical work commuter, im a dodge guy but gotta drive the big girl too far so i came across a fella with 2 trucks for sale, one is a 1992 toyota 4wd 3.0 v6. its a nice truck and i know you cant beat toyotas quality, a buddy of mine has owned them for years many of which i fell in love with. The other is a 4cyl nissan . The nissan is a nice ride but i cant get the toyota out of my mind, both are same price but the toyota has a pretty severe oil leak, my question to you is whether or not you all would recommend the toyota over the nissan, bias aside if possible, im bias myself and want the yota, im a mechanic by living just not on cars but a oil pan gasket is not far fetched . but from what i understand the 3.0 had headgasket failure due to bimetal head and block combos. I know this isnt the usual question nor a easy one to answer i just need a push. i know the toyota wont get the fuel mileage the nissan will but i just cant let it go , its clearly not the economical choice but it would sit better next to my dodge. thanks guys.

·
Languishing in Virginia
1994 XtraCab 4x4 P/U
2,026 Posts
How many miles on the yota & where is the oil leak? Valve cover leaks are COMMON because ppl don't use the FSM when replacing the gasket & a simple application of FIPG will prevent them.

·
Soylent Green sales
rock crawler
12,801 Posts
If you're looking for something economical and reliable, get a Toy with the 22RE 4 cyl, not the 3.slo

·
Registered
44 Posts
I just did a weekend trip to see my kids, drove 765 miles and bought 31.9 gallons of gas. You do the math. Point is, not all v6s are the same and I wouldnt take for mine and Ive had lots of offers.....trucks a 90 sr5 4x4 extended cab.......Rick

·
Registered
1,756 Posts